Some basic questions

aamirali

Joined Feb 2, 2012
1. Why electric trains don't feel any current shock. There are high voltage wires dirrectly above train, it can induces charges, doesn't it.

2. In ac plug , 200W bilb can glow, 100W can also work, a fan can work or anything which we run in our houses. Load may be very small or larger also.

I want 2 ask, if I have a small load lets ay 100W bulb, it draws less current, while a 200W bulb can draw larger currents. Similarly a computer tales larger lod.
It means 100W bulb have larger resistance while 200W bulb have less. But in actual I don't any resistive element. How to explain this. How does any load draws current, according to its need.

3. In CE transistor application, when we say its input & output impdence. What are we actually pointing at.
Its input resistance frrom what???????????

buzaiandras

Joined Jul 18, 2011
I will try to answer your questions but please note that my information may not be accurate (I am no expert in electricity, in fact I am a beginner). So maybe someone with more experience can give you better answers.

1. I am not sure if this answers your question but if I understand it correctly a train acts as a Faraday cage so there won't be any electric shock on the inside of the train.

2. As far as I know the fact that the "load draws" current is just an expression.
In fact it opposes the "flow of current". The more it opposes the lower is the
current. In a light bulb for example the opposition is done by the tungsten
filament

Stuntman

Joined Mar 28, 2011
1. Why electric trains don't feel any current shock. There are high voltage wires dirrectly above train, it can induces charges, doesn't it.

Just because the power is overhead doesn't mean you will get shocked. The power lines for your home are (most likely) located overhead, but they are safely routed and transformed down to your home to for use... without using your home's structure or YOU as a conductor.