Soldering questions

fender7802

Joined Apr 7, 2012
I have some questions about soldering I'm hoping to be helped out with. I have been soldering for a couple of years now, but I'm just not happy with the way it comes out some times. I'm comfortable with through-hole soldering, no problems there. I have been practicing surface mount, and will continue to do so, and it seems I will be able to pick that up with more practice.

The situation I seem to be having the most trouble with is soldering two wires together. Specifically, I am trying to solder wires onto transistor leads. My method is as follows: tin the strands of the wires, line up the wires with the transistor leads by use of the "helping hands" tool, and bring the iron with one hand and solder with the other up to the connection. Then, apply solder to the joint and wait a second for it to cool.

This seems to be the most common method, however I can't make a connection I'm happy with. It's either bunchy, or the wire moves, or the solder doesn't stick well, etc. Can anyone relate to this and have advice/suggetions? By the time I'm done soldering the three joints, I fear I have heated up the chip far too much. This brings me to another question: can I reduce the lifetime of the chip by giving it too much heat? In other words, can it still work after soldering, but fail a month or two later?

When soldering wires together in a situation like this, one method that works and gives a result that looks good is as follows: apply a glob of solder to the tip of the iron, hold the wire on the transistor lead in place, and then "paint" the solder onto the joint. However, I don't think this method is trustworthy because the solder which makes the connection has no flux. Is it best to not use this method, even if the wires are perfectly lined up and the solder looks smooth on the joint?

Thanks for reading and for any responses. I would really appreciate your help.

DerStrom8

Joined Feb 20, 2011