Soldering Microscope

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by LutherBaker, Sep 24, 2012.

1. LutherBaker

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 24, 2012
    I'm a newbie to electronics work - I've got a couple of old analog synthesizers that I'd like to work on. My first project involved a few chips in the Roland Juno 106.

I dug in, picked up a Weller WES51 as well as a Hakko 808 desoldering tool, got the chips out and have put them back in - but along the way, realized my eye-sight wasn't what it used to be. I have a little alligator clip thingie from Radio Shack with a microscope but recently saw eevblog's microscope and would like to get something similar. Not the video camera bit mind you, just the scope.

I don't need any fancy bells or whistles. Just need to be able to view ... maybe 4x up to about 20 or 30? Problem is, googling for stereoscopes brings back several vendors that appear a bit, less than ideal. I see quite a few no-named scopes in the $300 ~ $500 range and I'm just afraid I'll end up with something plastic. I like ebay ... but can't tell if the Muller brand on here is reputable ... or if it would even work -- how would I have placed the Juno 106 MOBO on there? eevblog's scope seems to have a wider, flatter seat.

How about these ... or these boom mounted scopes ?

Can anyone speak to a good brand, a good price and some minimum features to look for. I could see someone suggesting a lower-end boom simply because it can be used on larger boards. From a practical standpoint - are most project smaller ... and small enough to fit on the little pedestal style scopes?