solarpoweredlightcircuit

scopesys

Joined Nov 23, 2012
Hey guys, this is my first ever post on this forum and I'm a complete newbie when it comes to electronics, I have not done any classes what so ever regarding electronics (other than some short classes in physics during highschool), just ALOT of reading so everything I already know has been self taught.

I just bought something however because i was simply fascinated by it for a few reasons:
1) It uses 3 white LEDS
2) White LEDs have a forward voltage of approx 3volts each?
3) Yet it runs on a 1.2V AA battery

Now I know current can be stepped up however thats AC, what fascinated me about this device is its stepping up DC voltage from 1.2 to 3.x volts and i simply want to know how it does it.

These are the images of the circuit board, if you can make out how it does it, can you please explain how its buffing this specific circuit is buffing voltage? If possible I'd like to thoroughly understand it as I might use such a circuit when I start making my own stuff (such as why there is two resistors there in parallel?)

I also have one more 'side' question out of sheer curiousity:
I obtained a second one of these devices, and hooked them in series to two batteries in parallel
IE:
--Solarpanel--Solarpanel--
---------1.2V Battery-----------
---------1.2V Battery-----------

Now to turn the panels lights on either one, I have to switch them BOTH on and I dont get that since I've been under the assumption that theres always a connection either between the lights-battery OR solarpanel-battery.. So why cant I turn them on individually?

Anyway, I want to modify the original so that it turns on in the dark automatically by adding a photoresistor so partly I need to know if the device is STILL CHARGING while switched on

Later on im planning on mounting this thing on a spindle and want to it to rotate automatically with the sun (need to know hot to inverse the function of a photoresistor I guess but thats another topic :p)