Solar vs. Wind energy

Status
Not open for further replies.

bushrat

Joined Nov 29, 2014
I was just wondering, what would be more efficient: Solar energy or wind energy?

Solar pros:
  • avg 30W per sq meter (I'm guessing)
  • no moving parts
cons:
  • night, clouds, high latitude in winter
Wind pros:
  • weather and seasons have no effect
  • any latitude is ok
cons:
  • moving parts
  • wind not always availabe

Brownout

Joined Jan 10, 2012
Solar is better in Arizona. Wind is better in Kansas. Pretty soon, all the fossil fuel worshipers will turn this thread completely political, and render it useless.

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
depends on the weather ;). But no, really, it does. I read a book about it, so I'm an expert (Alternative Energy Demystified). Ok enough jokes, I did read the book and the book said different technologies are more or less appropriate for different regions/climates. More wind, more windmills, more sun, more solar.

tcmtech

Joined Nov 4, 2013
I prefer oil or coal myself. Both seem to work pretty well in all weather and lighting conditions.:p

After that its wind for me.

killivolt

Joined Jan 10, 2010
I was just wondering, what would be more efficient: Solar energy or wind energy?

Solar pros:
  • no moving parts
cons:
Wind pros:
  • any latitude is ok
cons:
  • moving parts
You might want to make an addition to Solar cons: Storage cost, Batteries or disposal, recycle once depleted.

kv

BR-549

Joined Sep 22, 2013
Out of the two.....it would be solar.

Wind energy should be outlawed.

Within 10 years all flying creatures will be wiped out, because of these monstrosities.

But the real danger is the planet over heating.

You see the wind spreads the heat all over the planet.

And if you use that wind for any other purpose.......you will certainly kill us all.

As I see it.....wind energy is far more dangerous the nuclear weapons.

killivolt

Joined Jan 10, 2010