Solar to LM7805 to Powerbank

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by alecksha, Jan 27, 2015.

1. alecksha

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 27, 2015
    Hi everyone i got this school project which will be needed on march for my final project, im just new to electronics. here is the picture my concern is if sunlight is stable will it charge my powerbank continuously? please do give some advise or do and don't on the picture thank you

2. pwdixon

Oct 11, 2012
    Rather depends on the voltage from the solar panel and what the current is going into the power bank, you might find that the regulator gets hot if the solar panel outputs much more than 7V or 8V.

3. alecksha

Jan 27, 2015
    here is the solar panels specs.

10W Polycrystalline Solar Panel
    Cells per module: 36pcs
    Maximum System Voltage: 800V
    Test Condition: 1000W/M² AM 1.5 Global, 25 °C Cell Temperature
    Maximum Power (Pmax): 10W
    Tolerance: 5%
    Voltage at Pmax (Vmp): 18.0V
    Current at Pmax (Imp): 0.555A
    Open-circuit voltage (Voc): 21.6V
    Short circuit current (Isc): 0.621A

some of my classmate says i have to put heat sink for regulator since the panel says its 18v i hope my solar panel wont burn my regulator. thank you for the fast reply

4. MikeML

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 2, 2009
  5. nsaspook

AAC Fanatic!

Aug 27, 2009
    alecksha likes this.
  6. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    Why do you want to use an LM7805 regulator?

7. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    You want your system to operate well at full (max) power conditions, and the 7805 would not be able to handle that much. It would be dropping 13V at 0.5A, requiring it to dissipate 6.5W. It will go poof.

Perhaps worse than that, your panel is cranking out 9W and you are burning off and wasting most of that.