Solar Panel project -Help needed

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by quaser, Oct 25, 2012.

1. quaser

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 22, 2012
    Hello!!

I want to build a solar panel to charge lead acid battery... and use the later to power 6 to 8 bright LEds through out the night...(or I might add motion trigger)
    I went through previous posts on relevant topic and this is what I summarized

a 32 Watts Solar Panel approx 2.6 Amp at 12 V

40 Ah lead acid battery ( 6V?)

PIC uC for monitoring theprocess

Is this ok? this is my first project in like years!! Please help me out!

regards,

quaser

2. ErnieM

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 24, 2011
    A solar system is a balancing act between what your load needs, what the battery can supply, and what the panels can produce.

Step one is to figure out your max load. How much current for how long will the LEDs draw? Multiply that to get the amp-hours required for the LEDs.

Step two: pick a battery. You want no more then 50% capacity used each night, 25% is better to insure a long battery life.

Step 3: PV Panels: A PV panel is a current device, meaning if you connect a 2.6 Amp at 12 V panel to a 6 volt battery the voltage will drop to the battery voltage, so you only get 2.6A x 6 volts = 15.6 watts out of it unless you get a sophisticated MPPT controller. Look it up, there are some cheapo units out there.

The huge balance point is winter days where you get the least charge time but the longest load time. Figure 5 hours of daylight just to be safe. With your panel you're just getting 2.6A * 5 hours = 13 amp-hours to charge a 40 amp-hour battery, and that's 100% efficient.

Having the PIC there can help, you can use a MOSFET switch to open the charge current when the battery is charged (over charging is a battery killer), or even make a controlled current input (PWM works well there).