Solar Generator for Bedroom Appliances

42Wired

Joined May 16, 2009
I’m planning on building a solar generator to power my TV and HTPC to cut down on my electric bill. I’ve looked at 12 V deep-cycle batteries, and the one with the most capacity that I’ve found so far is 305 Ah. My TV and HTPC run at roughly 1000 W combined, so that gives me about three and a half hours of usage. (Do I need to do some sort of RMS conversion for AC voltage?)

I don’t think 3.5 hours is enough time. I want to be able to run both simultaneously for up to 10 hours without having to plug into a wall outlet. This has led me to the conclusion that I will need more than one battery. I am a computer engineer, but my experience has been mostly software. I know I should put the batteries in parallel to get more capacity out of them, but I just want to make there are no caveats to connecting big batteries this way to AC appliances (through an inverter, of course).

Below is my planned parts list.
- 40 W Solar Panel
- Batteries
- Inverter
- Insulated Wire
- Volt Meter
- Battery Box (Probably a cooler or something)

Is there anything else I need? I think a surge protector would be nice, but I could probably just use a power strip with one built in.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
For a little 40W solar panel to charge a 1000W battery it will take 25 hours of noon sunlight. That is almost two weeks without any clouds.

A 400W solar panel will charge your battery in one sunny day but it will be very expensive.

42Wired

Joined May 16, 2009
Ooh, right. I scaled up the battery capacity without thinking about that.

Looking at 400 W models, they are VERY expensive. And they price the lower-wattage models just so if you buy enough to equal 400W, it costs the same.

If I used a 400 W panel, it would take about 32 years for the project to pay for itself. I guess I overestimated energy rates. I looked up the rates for my area online. It was partly a novelty, anyway.