Solar Engine

daroc26

Joined Apr 4, 2009
Hi All,

I'm a transplant from the electronics-lab forum. I lurked there for a year, asked a question and got no response.

I've been lurking here for a little bit and noticed that it's a little more active.

I'm an electronics newb. I've been checking out every site on the web, every book, and makezine blog, trying to learn about electronics. I get a little obsessed at times, thinking about the next great idea. I have a breadboard, I've ripped some components out of old electronics, and now I want to build.

I'm really into the BEAM movement and using solar cells. I just love that technology. But I don't understand the solar engine. What is the benefit of the solar engine, as opposed to hooking the solar cell to a capacitor and then to a motor or other load? I think it's because the transistor acts a switch which allows the circuit to build up more voltage before releasing to the motor. If this is right, doesn't the cap do the same thing?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks
Daroc

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
BEAM movement? Not familar with it.

A cap will handle surges, while a solar cell has a low but steady output. The two work together pretty well.

daroc26

Joined Apr 4, 2009
Hi Bill, BEAM is the creation of Mark Tilden...Autonomous robots that mimic biological beings in nature...it's pretty cool. Just google BEAM and I think you'll be inspired.

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
BEAM has a big emphasis on small and recycling tech junk, and being solar powered. There is a huge emphasis on simplicity (with a certain definition of simplicity, i.e. no uC).

The "brains" are inverters set up as ring oscillators, typically one for each side of the robot. Sensors on each side will alter the frequency of the oscillator, causing the robot to turn towards the stimulus.

Adding more oscillators and more sensors can create centipedes and other forms.