So, I've got this alternator, right?

roadwaystrybran

Joined May 9, 2015
... And I plan to hook it up to an angle grinder, or some kind of motor to act as a generator. Honestly, I have no idea what I'm doing, I'm an electronics novice. Basically, in trying to learn this I figured I'd start at the source- the actual production of electricity. I've built a few of those science fair-y coils with a neodymium magnet rotating near them, but had negligible results. I just want to generate, like, 1 volt dammit! I figured that I'd go with the golden standard of electricity generation to see if I can spot my failure. As I understand it, alternators put out a small amount of voltage, at least compared to their amperage output. I have about half a clue what I'm trying at here, and was wondering if someone could help me out/ stop me before I fry myself. Anything from the complete knowledge of electricity to hurtful naysaying would help immensely. Thank you in advance for your help!

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
750 watts is one horsepower in electrical power.

How many horse power is that angle grinder? 1/2 maybe?
That means with losses calculated in, roughly of course. you could generate about 250-300 watts of electricity max.

Next problem is what type of alternator you have. Most will need an 'exciting' current to generate the magnetic field that is the driving force of AC current from the alternator. Cars have control electronics that tweak the exciting current to keep the voltage output of the alternator fairly even over a wide range of engine RPM's and loads.

You, sir, need to do some serious researching on the topic of automotive alternators before proceeding further. otherwise, it is a good way to learn about all the problems in power generation!

Finding a DC motor and driving that with another motor would be a better place to start, if you are just beginning.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013