Snubber Diode

qitara

Joined Jan 18, 2013
Hi Guys

I got a solenoid that is getting the relay that is driving it going bad due to the contacts getting welded, so now its time to install a diode across the solenoid, only thing is that I am not a pro at sizing the correct diode, So i would be thank full if some of you guys could help :)

the Solenoid is a 900W DC solenoid running on 110VDC.

P.S

If I change the Electromechanically relay with a SSR that has a load voltage of 0-400VDC and load current of 40 amp, will I still need to install the diode ?

Last edited:

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
Hi Guys

P.S

If I change the Electromechanically relay with a SSR that has a load voltage of 0-400VDC and load current of 40 amp, will I still need to install the diode ?
No, but check the manufacturer's DATASHEET and application notes to be sure of all requirements. I prefer the SSR option.

qitara

Joined Jan 18, 2013
I prefer the SSR option.
Well I like the SSR option as well, but what I don't know is if it will run fine with the coil pumping current when its begin disconnected

if the solenoid causes the contacts on the electromechanical relay to get welded, what would it do to the SSR, will the SSR work fine without a diode across the solenoid ?

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
Check the manufacturer's DATASHEET. They will have recommendations (there may be a built-in diode or they may recommend adding one. Check it out.

qitara

Joined Jan 18, 2013
checked the datasheet, but nothing was found there only the diagram showing a diode on the load side (terminal), I cant see how the diode will work when its not across the load ?

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
SSRs can handle AC or DC loads.

DC loads
This type of load should be considered inductive, and a diode should be placed across the load to absorb any surges during turn-off.

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010