SMT machine to assemble opposite direction reel

haal

Joined May 16, 2012
I currently came through a PCB assembler to assemble for my boards. I had 250 boards and wanted to assemble 0402 LEDs on the board. The assembler came back to me after assembling all the boards. They told me that the LEDs were hand soldered due to the reel for the capacitor coming on the opposite direction with respect to their P&P machine. That was the most ridiculous thing I had ever heard. I have been running these projects for last 2 years and no one came to me with that type of excuse. They even said that since it was 250 pcs, they couldn't roll the reel by hand on the other way to make it fit with their machine. What kind of assembler does that? Who comes up with these ideas?

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
?? Maybe their specific machine can't turn parts 180 deg? Seems like BS though.
Not sure why you said LED then capacitor either..

THE_RB

Joined Feb 11, 2008
I currently came through a PCB assembler to assemble for my boards. I had 250 boards and wanted to assemble 0402 LEDs on the board. The assembler came back to me after assembling all the boards. They told me that the LEDs were hand soldered due to the reel for the capacitor coming on the opposite direction with respect to their P&P machine.
That's BS for sure, all the machines can do rotation that is how all your other parts ended up the correct way around!

I think the real answer was that 0402 LEDs are tiny and have a lens "bump" on top that makes then hard to pick up with standard nozzles, so if their machine had trouble picking up then they chose to hand place and solder (what a pain! they deserve a medal if they did not increase the price!).

...They even said that since it was 250 pcs, they couldn't roll the reel by hand on the other way to make it fit with their machine. ...
That's BS too, because the tape has holes on one edge only it can never be reversed, the tapes must always feed the same direction.