Smoker Circuit Design

killivolt

Joined Jan 10, 2010
First I would open with the fact that.... I am not an Engineer, and not a Programmer.

Just a Hobby guy on this site with limited knowledge in electronics, I have worked in Electronic Assembly working with Engineers RD, worked with a database repairing TV's, no audio experience.

I was the Quality Control and Quality Assurance, everything I did was hand built at the time.

I also did Commercial and Residential repair, Furnaces, Air Conditioning, appliances - Range, microwave, refrigerators, swamp coolers, small appliances you name it.

I have a pick kit 2, Analog and digital scope, DMM, frequency generator. Still need an Isolated power supply.

Now my question about a potential project, I will take my time with it:

If you were going to design a circuit for a "Smoker" ? in my case I want to use a self cleaning oven and fit a rig on it below the cavity that would feed wood chips or pellets into a burn pan and direct the smoke to the interior.

I thought I could use a smoke detector circuit and feed input maybe to a pick processor.

Maybe someone has a circuit design already? or you might do it differently? I don't know, that's why I'm asking here.

Thanks,

kv

Stuntman

Joined Mar 28, 2011
If my memory serves me correctly: The early wood pellet grills simply had some kind of fire starting device (electric burner?), a variable speed auger, fan for oxidizing the burning pellets, and a temperature sensor (optional).

If it was a temp controlled unit, you got the sensor and the speed of the auger was some kind of loop based on your target temperature. If you got the models with just a few settings (think: A B C D reflecting different heat levels), it simply changed the speed of the auger.

Should be pretty doable, but realize a commercial unit may be cheaper and safer.

SLK001

Joined Nov 29, 2011