SMD soldering

xxxyyyba

Joined Aug 7, 2012
I have some experience with basic soldering (resistors, capacitors etc). Which equipment is used for soldering SMD? It would be hard to do it with regular soldering iron I think.

Last edited:

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
For a few parts one could use a regular soldering iron.. like for larger lead simple stuff
For anything else..
hot air gun for doing a few parts. ($60 to 600+)
reflow oven for doing whole boards at a time. ($50 if DIY to $200 or so for a cheap Chinese batch oven to thousands for a professional oven/tunnel)

"solder paste" is used vs solder wire which is just a mixture of micro solder balls typically suspended in a flux that could be tack to help hold parts down,etc...

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
It's really not very hard, the worst part of SMD soldering is starting to do some.

Got two bucks? For that you can get a practice board you throw away when you are done. That way you don't waste anything "expensive."

Some of us (me for one) actually prefer to use SMD parts for hand made breadboards (without a formal PCB).

You can get by with just a regular iron with a fine tip (some prefer broad tips), but do add in thin solder and some fluxed solder wick. Thin solder to prevent blobs and wick to remove the ones you make anyway.

I'd stay away from solder paste for a while, wait for the day you are good but want to get better.

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
I agree with ErnieM. I use SMD, not so much for space saving, but because they are easier. Albeit, I do not go smaller than the 805 size. If I were younger with steady hands, I would consider going smaller. I just use a temperature controlled soldering iron with a fine tip.

John

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
I do SMD soldering by hand all the time. Get the finest soldering iron tip (0.38mm) and finest solder wire (0.79mm).
I use 0805 parts and SOIC when available.