Smart current sink for testing shorts?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by MATTY B, Nov 13, 2010.

1. MATTY B

Thread Starter Active Member

Jan 26, 2008
    Hi there,

I have a little project I want to put together to upgrade the very simple set up I have now. Backround on this is that I am an automotive electrician, not an EE I fix stuff after it breaks.

One part of that is dealing with shorts on the vehicles harnesses. The first part of fixing it is actually locating it. As of right now, I have a little project box with an analog ammeter and a NO momentary switch that can plug into a fusepanel in place of the fuse. I can quickly hit the switch and watch the ammeter to see if there is a large hit on the circuit. A dead short will max the ammeter out right away. I DO NOT hold the switch just tap it quickly to see if it pegs while shaking down harnesses and removing components to isolate the short.

The big issue with this is there really isnt any circuit protection for this other than just being quick on the switch so it doesnt heatup. I dont really trust a run of the mill circuit breaker as it could fail as well as possibly being over or undersized for even a normal current draw of a particular circuit eg: a heater circuit can be sized at 25-30A 12vdc while a dome light circuit could be 10A. Obviously a one sized fits all circuit breaker could damage some circuits and open up on heavier current circuits even if its not shorted.

Testing by using continuity to ground is good only if the circuit is short to ground, it doesnt allow me to see if a component such as a motor is going bad and pulling too much current but isnt a dead short, just overloading the circuit.