Smallest RGB LED Controller

don.key

Joined Oct 9, 2012
Hi Folks,

I need to integrate 1-3 miniature multicolor RGB LEDs into very small space and need them to do run some automated patterns, a slow Rainbow color change loop at least. All at the same time, no need to drive each LED individually. It should be as small as possible and run off single CR2032 cell.

Is there such product or blueprint for a controller board out there?

Thanks!

Don

MMcLaren

Joined Feb 14, 2010
Hi Don,

I have some experience using microcontrollers and RGB LEDs but I'm not sure I would have much time to help. Anyway, here's an example controller circuit (below) that uses an 8 pin PIC microcontroller. The program produces 64 gamma corrected brightness levels per LED using duty cycle values spanning a 256 step PWM range and could probably be rewritten to run on a 6 pin PIC, like a 10F322, with a much higher refresh rate. You probably wouldn't need Sony SIRC Remote control capability and if you're just driving a single RGB LED you wouldn't need the driver transistors.

May I ask what it is you're building, Sir?

Regards, Mike

Attachments

Last edited:

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Microchip has an app for that.

The app note describes a simple controller with a PIC16HV615. They put a zener regulator on their sample, but this part can regulate its own power and can be left out. Might be completely unnecessary with the coin cell power you suggest. Also, the transistor outputs can be replaced with MOSFETs for lower component count, and lower current draw. If your LED current load is low enough the PIC could run the LEDs directly.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
A CR2032 cell is only 3V which is not enough to light most blue or bright green LEDs.
The capacity of a CR2032 cell is so low that it will not light a red LED for long.

The CR2032 cell is rated for a load current of only 0.19mA which is 1/100th the current of a bright ordinary LED.

don.key

Joined Oct 9, 2012
Hi Don,