Small theoretical question. . .

Discussion in 'Automotive Electronics' started by Redscarf, Jul 2, 2015.

1. Redscarf

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 28, 2015
    Hey guys I'm a bit new to the electronics and automotive scene, but I just wanted ask you all, theoretically if some one wanted to make a small automobile that use a solar energy to charge the batteries to power the car. how big of an array would have to be used and how much watts would be needed to power the car to about 50mph max? I would love a reply, thanks.

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    Google is your friend.
    It's been done. Look it up.

That is not a small question. It's an engineering balance that people have worked on for decades.

Last edited: Jul 2, 2015
    cmartinez likes this.
  3. ian field

Distinguished Member

Oct 27, 2012
    Someone in Australia actually did it - the article was published in Silicon Chip quite some years back.

There's an archive of SC floating about online somewhere that includes that issue.

4. Redscarf

Jan 28, 2015
    Oh wow, thanks guys but i'd never imagine it'd be this big of a deal, i'll see if i can replicate in a smaller form and work my way up. . .

5. ian field

Distinguished Member

Oct 27, 2012
    There was an international competition years ago for various uni students to construct solar powered go-carts. The progress and end results were widely published both in paper magazines and online, they may also still be floating about the web somewhere.

AFAICR: Elektor magazine made a big deal about the contest preparations. I think there were articles about it over several issues.

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    I was thinking about the Australian competition, but couldn't remember its name. :(

7. MrAl

Jun 17, 2014
    Hi,

Modern engines can put out an equivalent of over 100 kilowatts. But that is to get up to speed at a normal rate, not allowing for the car to be able to take a full minute to reach 25 mph.