Small Simple Learning Project

Santoyo

Joined Jul 31, 2011
Hello everyone. I am new here as I have recently gained quite a bit of interest in electronics. I go to The University of Illinois at Chicago and I'm majoring in ME. I am just now finishing up my summer semester electricity and magnetism class. I guess that is where my new-found interest has come from.

This is my first thread, and I must say that I feel rather intimidated by the amount of knowledge that lies in these forums. Most things are simply way beyond my current scope. I only know what has been taught in the class, so, please, bear with me.

Well, anyway, I figure that the only way for me to truly understand electronics is to perform some hands-on projects. So here is where I would like to start...

Having had a certain interest in engineering since I was a kid I have accumulated vast amounts of the building toy k'nex over that time period. I am sure most of you have come across them at some point. These seem to be the perfect place to start experimenting. The overall basic thing I want to do is propel one of the roller coaster trains along the track via wheels that operate at increasing speeds.

One of these sets came with "boosters". These boosters are made up of 2 DC motors (one per shown black wheel) powered by 3 C batteries. I would like to take these apart, reposition the wheels and motors underneath the track, make them run off of a single power supply, and make each wheel run at a different speed without using gear ratios.