Votes: 1 100.0%
  • extreamly usefull

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

bradstormer

Joined Aug 6, 2010
Hi all!
I'm a newbie to this site and am looking for some help.
i am about to start my third year in electronics and i have to submit a project brief when i get back.
My project must incorporate at least the following :
a member of the 8051 family μC and an LCD display. it must also have a military theme.
My initial plan is to submit a project on: small scale radar using ultrasonic TX/RX to detect movement within a 20 meter range, display the position on a matrix display and maybe a distance to the target on the LCD display.
The size of the target would be that of an average man and the environment would be a woodland clearing.
Would this be possible?:confused: any help or even other project ideas would be greatly appreciated!
thank you!!

Markd77

Joined Sep 7, 2009
First thing, if you are using ultrasound, it is SONAR, not RADAR.
Most hobby ultrasound projects don't have that range, but if you used a higher power transmitter it might be possible. You would need 2 spaced out recievers to get direction and distance in a horizontal plane, and probably a good deal of experementation.

BMorse

Joined Sep 26, 2009
Since it will be used in a woodland area, I do not know if Ultrasound would be the best thing to use since you will get a lot of echo feedback from the surroundings and may not get an accurate reading of a person in the same area....

Using something like a Laser radar (or Lidar) would probably be better.