Small scale Bluetooth module

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by jednified, Dec 8, 2010.

1. jednified

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 8, 2010
    Hi guys. Im new here. Is there a bluetooth module which you can configure the range of the the module? For example from a 5 meter range to about 1 ft or less... Currently planning on using BTSerial1 Bluetooth module. Any idea of a less expensive and better bluetooth module?

Im new to this stuff so please bear with me.

2. sceadwian

Jun 1, 2009
    It's difficult to control the range especially to the degree you're looking for using the 2.4ghz spectrum, I doubt it's practical to implement.

Further information might be had by looking into keyless entry units for cars and finding out what frequencies and methods they use for tx and rx. I have a keyless entry/start for my car and it's sensitive to within a bout 5 feet, but the range of sensativity can be 3-15 feet under poor conditions.

Why are you looking for 1ft range? RF isn't really suitable to this type of application.

3. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    Variable shielding - various screen meshes - might reduce range in a slightly controllable way.

But, why not just run a wire the whopping 1 foot?

4. jednified

Dec 8, 2010
    Thank you for the replies sir

@wayneh & sceadwian

This is supposed to be a project that would be applied to streets in real life. But as a project, its more practical to make a miniature version of the project.

If applied to the streets the range would be 5m, but Im planning on making a miniature for displaying purposes and bringing the project to and from school.

5. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    What's forcing you to reduce the range? I mean, who'll know or care if it has "normal" bluetooth range?

6. sceadwian

Jun 1, 2009