slot machine

matt03

Joined Aug 21, 2013
hi, i'm fairly new to this, so please forgive me with anything i'm doing wrong.

i'm working on a school project. i'm designing a digital slot machine on multisim12.

for the slot machine, i'm using a 0-9 up counter designed with 4 JK flipflops. (3 counters all in all)
the outputs of each flip flop are fed into the input of a BCD to 7-segment decoder then to a 7 segment display.

i wanted my pay out to be the following:

numbers that are not equal = $0
000 - 666 = $20
777 = $999
888 and 999 = $200

however, i am having problems comparing the 3 numbers. right now, i am using nand gates to compare the BCDs of each displayed digit, then the outputs of the nand gates are the inputs of a 2 input nor gate with the other connected to ground. the outputs of the nor gate are then the A inputs of a 4 bit magnitude comparator with the B inputs set at 0111.

it works at 777, however regardless of whether the numbers are 1-1-1 or 1-2-3, the A less than B output is always $20.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
It would help if you had a schematic or some logic expressions instead of just a verbal description, but I definitely want to thank you for making an attempt first and then posting that attempt to start the ball rolling.

I'm not following how you are comparing the numbers. When you say using NAND gates to compare the BCDs of each displayed digit, what do you mean? You have three four-bit values:

D0[3:0]
D1[3:0]
D2{3:0]

where D0, D1 and D2 are three digits and Dn[0] is the lsb of the Dn digit whle Dn[3] is the msb of that digit.

So you have twelve signals that are your inputs.

How many outputs do you have? How many possibly outcomes do you have? How do you want to encode them?

What are your constraints? Can you only use two-input NAND and NOR gates? I'm inferring this from your description -- but it would be better if you stated what your restrictions are.

Now break down your requirements into chucks: