SLA vs Li-ion battery

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by majhi, Jul 23, 2015.

1. majhi

Thread Starter Member

Jul 2, 2014
    I am currently using a 12v 5Ah SLA battery in a project. I need a longer battery life than what I'm getting now so I was going to just get another battery (same kind) and put it in parallel to the existing one. However two SLA batteries are rather heavy. Am I to understand that something like this (arbitrary product page: http://www.amazon.com/Alice-Portable-9800mah-Rechargeable-Battery/dp/B00R3VDL46/) could be used to replace the battery I have now and also provide almost double the capacity? I've never used Li-ion before, hence the noob question. Thanks in advance.

2. MikeML

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 2, 2009
    How did you recharge the SLA?
    How do you plan to recharge the LiIon?

3. nsaspook

AAC Fanatic!

Aug 27, 2009
    Those types of products (unknown quality Li-ion battery and charger) scare me.

4. majhi

Thread Starter Member

Jul 2, 2014
    For the SLA, I use a wall wart and just hook the battery up to that. For the LiIon, I would have to look into a charger.

Agreed, and the fact that it ships from China... I picked that one because it had the highest capacity and lowest price. Granted I wouldn't buy that one for the same reasons you stated, but at least I could get an idea of what the low end stuff costs.

5. MrAl

Jun 17, 2014
    Hi,

Chargers for Li-ion have to be built more carefully than for LA batteries.
    The max current could be very different, as well as the tolerance of the cell voltage.
    Things things should be investigated thoroughly before doing anything like building a charger.

6. majhi

Thread Starter Member

Jul 2, 2014
    Oh I definitely wouldn't build a charger. I'd just get one made for the battery that I select.