Skin-Temperature-Sensor: sensor-type & circuit design?

sgraeber

Joined Oct 20, 2008
Hello everybody,

I am quite new in all this electronics and circuits stuff, but I have to deal with it somehow, as I need some basics for a studies related project. Unfortunately I do not have a clue, so hopefully I can bother you with some of my questions ...

My current task is to find a circuit design for measuring skin temperature. I already developed some ideas on that, but I am not sure, if I am doing right.

So this is, what I want to achieve:

What temp range?
"normal" skin-temperature is 32/33°C; Temperature Range in certain conditions can be between 31°C and 37°C
So range 31°C - 37°C is required.

Accuracy?
Different medical devices use different values here. I think for me ±0.1°C is ok.

Response time?
Seconds should be ok.

Distance?
direct skin contact - some mms

Output?
analog
Other requirements?
- Sensor should be as small as possible (plan is to built the sensor into a mobile phone)
- Sensor should work with +5V

Do you recommend any sensor-device for this application? I thought about the LM35 (http://www.national.com/mpf/LM/LM35.html). Is this a good choice? Or can you recommend anything better, smaller, ...?

Further, I have this circuit diagram - which I am not sure is a good one (see attached file skintemperature.jpg) Would be happy for any help with this circuit diagram (as I do not know, if this could work for me): does this circuit diagram make any sense for what I want to achieve?
Sorry, this sounds like a stupid question, but this is the first time that I try to design such stuff ...

Thank you very very much for all of your efforts in advance.

Hope to get some answers here, that might help me.

Attachments

tmd_63

Joined Oct 20, 2008
The LM35CAZ is a very good device with a nice 10mV/degC output. Your requirement should give an output range of 310mV to 370mV.