sine to square wave converter

s900t8v

Joined Mar 12, 2011
hey guys

I've been looking on the net for a cheap and simple box that converts a sine wave to a square wave

for my project TRACK car - the ECU needs a square wave speed signal. I have a sine wave reluctance style sensor in the back of the speedo. I want to condition the signal.

I can change the pulse settings blabla in the ECU to get the speed right so I can just use any converter right? The problem is I can't even find one :(

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Going from sine to square is a lot easier than the other way around.
Any amplifier, transistor, logic gate or comparator will do the job.

s900t8v

Joined Mar 12, 2011
ok, so i'm a total noob when it comes to electronics, can you point me at something cheap and readily available

Ideally I just want to connect the sine input, and connect the square output, is there anything that makes it that easy lol ;D

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
You have to provide more information.
What is the output voltage and impedance of the sensor.
What voltage is required by the ECU. What is the input impedance of the ECU?
Some of these questions you may not know the answer. But if you can provide more details we can figure it out.

If this has anything to do with real automobiles, we cannot help you.

s900t8v

Joined Mar 12, 2011
You have to provide more information.
What is the output voltage and impedance of the sensor.
What voltage is required by the ECU. What is the input impedance of the ECU?
Some of these questions you may not know the answer. But if you can provide more details we can figure it out.

If this has anything to do with real automobiles, we cannot help you.
na it's a project...

how do I measure these things?

I can measure the voltage at the sine wave sensor? how do I measure impedence?

not sure about the ECU, seeing if I can find that out now !

thanks for the help :)

blah2222

Joined May 3, 2010