simple voltage divider circuit

raidermanz

Joined Aug 14, 2007
I think I have correctly designed this very simple voltage divider circuit to indicate when a voltage potential reaches a certain level. Since I am an extreme novice, I thought I would ask for constructive criticism. If I am using a PTC device connected with a small resistor in series, I should be able to monitor the voltage between the two to establish the current state of the ptc resistor. Also, using a zener at this point, I should be able to connect that to a pic to be monitored without fear of over-loading the microcontroller. Does anyone disagree with this? All feedback is appreciated.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
What's the resistance range of your positive temperature coefficient thermistor, and the fixed resistor in series with it?

What is the voltage connected on either ends of the series resistors?

Please post a schematic; they help a great deal to eliminate confusion.

raidermanz

Joined Aug 14, 2007