simple tone oscillator / 22mF capacitor

Status
Not open for further replies.

AL4921

Joined Feb 25, 2014
I am a starting hobbyist and just built this circuit for testing:

http://circuit-diagram.hqew.net/Simple-Tone-Oscillator-Generator-by-2N2222_10535.html

but I don't get how the cap is discharging each cycle. If someone could point out & explain my thinking error I'd appreciate it:

1-9V pushes holes to top of the PNP while at the same time pushing holes through both resistors to push holes to the NPN gate while also pushing holes to the + side of the capacitor

2- ground pushes electrons to - side of capacitor, while pushing electrons up through NPN emitter, which triggers(amplified flow) through the NPN then the PNP, which triggers holes to flow down from PNP emitter to collector to (speaker)

So once the cap is charged, the flow goes through the transistors, eventually flowing straight through the PNP to speaker to ground. I don't get at what point/how the cap empties and then recharges again (creating the oscillation)

Would appreciate any help on this -

ps. I used very loose wording ('holes' 'pushes' etc) rather than exact terms i.e. just looking for a conceptual answer if possible

Last edited:

THE_RB

Joined Feb 11, 2008
Here is the schematic image;

I understand your point, it looks like once the two transistors turn fully on the speaker will have almost 9v volts across it and everything will just sit there.

(If the circuit works) then I think the key to oscillation will be the speaker mechanical and magnetic properties, and the very effective coupling of the speaker to the base of Q1 through the 22uF cap.