Simple Sewing Machine Needle Position Project Help

keabler

Joined Apr 17, 2013
Hey all,

The brief summary for this project is that I want to make a 2 position encoder for my industrial sewing machine. I want my machine to stop with the needle in the up or down position, have a button that will advance the needle up or down and a button that will produce 3 stitches for backstitching. I plan on using an arduino based circuit for this project.

Here is a link to the machine I have. http://www.westchestersewing.com/wsm/5550/

I have a degree in physics and a some experience in electronics, but I don't have a lot of experience in building power supplies or circuit design in general. I own an outerwear company and I want to modify my machine to make it easier to use.

Here is my main problem right now.

1. From what I can tell my machine seems to be controlled by a magnetic proximity sensor. The proximity sensor is a small 3 pin device and there is a link to a picture of it at the bottom of this page. There is a small square neodymium magnet that gets moved closer to the sensor when the foot pedal is pressed down. However, when I measure the voltage across the pins to the sensor I measure ~8V AC for all pins. When I measure the resistance across the pins of the sensor they don't change with the introduction of a magnetic field. If we look at the picture from left to right (so upside down from what we might normally consider pins 1, 2 and 3), 1 and 3 measure 147.5 k K Ohm, 1 and 2 give 142.1 k Ohm and 2 and 3 2.35 k Ohm.

Can any one tell me what this sensor is and propose a method for sensing and then controlling this circuit with an arduino?

Here is an image of it http://hubbleouterwear.com/Backups/IMAG0074.jpg

KJ6EAD

Joined Apr 30, 2011
That appears to be a hall effect sensor. If it's controlled by the position of the foot pedal, it's for motor control. If it were set up near the needle bar, it could be used as a needle position sensor which is what you need.