Simple RF Question

Discussion in 'Wireless & RF Design' started by davidGG, Aug 29, 2013.

1. davidGG

Thread Starter Member

Dec 22, 2012
    Hello everybody,
    I am relatively new to RF electronics.
    I currently just completed an antennas course and it really got me curious about radio frequency.

Here is my question:

I want to purchase a RF generator just for hobby work. (i.e. propagation).
    What is the difference between something being labeled as a RF generator and an ordinary signal generator?

As far as I know RF means the frequency of operation is in the radio spectrum. Other then that, are there any other differences?
    I understand that with the increase of frequency, electronic devices perform differently due to skin effects, impedance changes, and other properties of electromagnetism.
    If what I stated is not clear, what I mean is, is the output of the RF generator is the same type of current as a signal generator with the only difference being the range of frequency?

The reason why I ask is because my antennas professor would always say that when using an RF signal, in order to match the impedance of an antenna you can not use resistors because of the properties of RF, instead you must narrow/widen the transmission line.
    However, I can not find any literature about this. I found a book on RF and there is an entire chapter that deals with resistors at high frequencies which is contradictory to what he said.

I am totally confused. Maybe my professor was talking about narrowing/widening the transmission line once the wave is propagated and using that propagated wave as a proximity feed to an antenna?

I tried asking him but he is from another country and didn't understand what I was trying to say so I just gave up. I hope you guys can clear things up.

Sorry for the wall of text.
    I appreciate all of your help.

Nov 30, 2010