Simple question about voltage drop

steev

Joined Jun 12, 2011
Hi All,
Please excuse this simple question, I'm new to electrics/electronics and teaching myself...........
A question about voltage drop.......

When we talk about a voltage drop across something, do we mean the voltage has dropped TO - or voltage has dropped BY.
For example, in a series circuit I have a 9v battery and when I put in a resistor of q ohms and measure the volts it reads 1.5v.
Does that mean there is 7.5v through the resistor or 1.5v?

I think it means the voltage has dropped BY because the series rule is: "total voltage in a series circuit is equal to the sum of the individual voltage drops". But please confirm,
Thanks,
Steve

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
A drop across is measured... ACROSS the component.

A voltage dropped to (probably) means the voltage from that point to a reference point (such as "ground").

If you just have a 9V battery and a resistor then unless you are seriously overloading the battery then the 9V of the battery is also across the resistor... you need another part to get another drop.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Ohm's Law is usually in charge of voltage drop, but there are exceptions. Silicon diodes, for example, drop 0.6 to 0.7VDC. LEDs are extremely variable, but pretty constant for an individual component. Zeners, though their mechanism is different, are much the same.

mbohuntr

Joined Apr 6, 2009
Here's a pic and some math to help you. First, calculate the current. 9V/ 300 ohms = .03A This is an application of Ohms law E=IR Here, it is I=E/R

.03A x 200 ohms = 6 volts
.03A x 100 ohms = 3 volts
3 volts + 6 volts = 9 volts (your source.)

Attachments

steev

Joined Jun 12, 2011
Hi Again,
Thanks for all your answers.
Perhaps I'm being too pedantic when I see the phrase "voltage drop"...
I've attached a short Word doc to explain what I'm trying to say.....