Simple design puzzle

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by adam555, Aug 17, 2013.

1. adam555

Thread Starter Active Member

Aug 17, 2013
    Hi, I'm new to circuit design and need some help solving what seems a simple puzzle: I need 2 potentiometers to act as one.

The closest I got was this:
    [​IMG]

But this will not do the work because it would only have to pins (acting like a variable resistor rather than a potentiometer). What I need is the 2 potentiometers combined together and connected to 3 wires, which will give me the total resistance when adding the result from the 2 first wires + the last 2 wires (like a single potentiometer).

Can anyone please help?

2. LDC3

Apr 27, 2013
    I not sure what you are asking for, so I guess this is not what you want.

• Pots.png
      Pots.png
      File size:
      771 bytes
      Views:
  3. adam555

Aug 17, 2013
    Hi, thanks for the help, but that would also work as my example -as a variable resistor rather than a potentiometer-. What I need is a result that would combine the 2 potentiometers but result in 3 wires (as a single potentiometer would have).

Imagine that each potentiometer is 20K, then I need to combine both potentiometers to give me through wire #1 and wire #2 between 0K and 40K, and between wire #2 and wire #3 the exact opposite result 40K to 0K (like one potentiometer acting alone).

I'm not even sure if this could be done, but it doesn't matter if you need to add extra components; only the two 20K potentiometers need to be there... and the 3 connecting wires.

4. adam555

Aug 17, 2013
    Also tried this:

[​IMG]

But it also doesn't work because the resistance between the middle and left wires is not balanced with the middle and right wires -as a single potentiometer would-.

5. strantor

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 3, 2010
    like this?
    [​IMG]

6. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    Why are you trying to do this? This sounds like a homework problem of some kind.