Simple Current Limiting Add-On

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Xplode, Sep 1, 2012.

1. Xplode

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 1, 2012
    Hi guys,
    I'm still fairly new to electronic design and I'm trying to work out a simple current limiting circuit for a project I'm working on. I will have variable loads in the 1.3 - 5ohm range that will be attached through spring terminals, and is wired loose in the field, so the chance of a short circuit is fairly high. Also, the load itself (depending on Vdrop across the field wiring) may try to draw more than my intended limits but each load only requires ~1amp to function...

I have many parallel loads that will be turned ON/OFF via a set of FETs powered by a common 24VDC rail that I would like to limit to 4 or 5Amps... (Ideally so 4 parallel sets of load at ~1amp required each, will function simultaneously).
    These FETs will be triggered ON for only a short burst of time (100-200ms max) but if there is a wiring error in the field, I don't want the circuit to run uncontrolled and allow 20+AMPs to flow, burning up my FETs and melting wires.

I found a simple Current limiting circuit through google (http://www.vidisonic.com/2008/07/10/current-limiting-circuit/) but I don't fully understand the instructions on how to select the Transistors and bias resistors. Plus all the circuits I've seen seem to be geared towards smaller currents...

Help? :)

My List of Requirements:
    * 24VDC Battery Powered overall
    * Minimal Drop across limiter under normal operation
    * Will be on the Positive side of the load (V+ to Limiter to Load to GND)
    * Must auto-reset back to normal operation the instant the fault is cleared (ie the Load's controlling FET is turned off)

I think the circuit I found will work - so maybe just help with parts?

Thanks in advance!

P.S. - I tried searching but the search seems to be broken? I just get a blank white page....

2. Ron H

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 14, 2005