Simple 2 minute motor timer - SUCH A THING EXIST???

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by sparkism13, May 8, 2011.

1. sparkism13

Thread Starter New Member

May 8, 2011
    Hi, all. I'm new to this forum and I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I'm looking for some type of circuit or chip that will power on a small motor w/fan attached for a certain amount of time (2min) and then shut off.
    The motor will be powered by 2 standard AA alkaline batteries or 2 AA NiMH rechargeables. It will likely be a brushless DC motor or possibly standard brushed motor. I found a couple of 3v motors already but I'm looking for the logic that will kick it on and turn it off after a couple of minutes. Does such a "kit" exist or would I need to build my own circuit? I'm a complete novice in circuitry so hopefully a simple chip or circuit already exists. I can do simple soldering but would like something fairly complete. I will search the site but any suggestions would GREATLY appreciated. Thank you!!

Last edited: May 8, 2011
  2. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    A simple 555 will do that. How much current will this motor need? I assume you want a push button, but there are plenty of other options. Basically what you want is pretty simple.

[​IMG]

This is a derivative of the following project, 555 Monostable. This schematic will need modified somewhat, I just pulled this schematic from my library.

There is one fly in the ointment, you will need 6V. This shouldn't be a major issue, just 2 more AA cells.

You could build a similar circuit that uses 3V, but the parts will be a lot harder to get.

Last edited: May 8, 2011
  3. sparkism13

May 8, 2011
    Bill, thank you. I've been on this forum for about 3 hours now and I think I'm hooked! I've already discovered your 555 projects but since I'm so new to circuitry, it's going to take some time to digest it all.