Simple 12vdc led flex strip power from 120vac?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by playfair, Apr 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. playfair

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 17, 2011
    Hey guys- First post here! I'm a mechie by trade, but have always had a fondness for electronic stuff. Found this site looking for info on a project I'm doing, and was amazed by the good stuff here (one could spend months reading!). However, searching hasn't returned my exact situation.

What I want to do is replace an aged 120vac rope light used for ambient cove lighting with flexible LED strip light around the ceiling of a room. Length is around 40' total. It is controlled via a remote electronic dimmer.

The crown molding the lights reside in has barely enough room for the 120v outlet that currently powers the lights, making the addition of a transformer difficult at best. I'm hoping there's a way to keep this simple, yet continue to allow the dimming feature.

The strip I want to use is a 12v series/parallel configuration of leds, cuttable every 3 lamps.

The total length in 1 run is limited only due to the amount of current the flex PCB can handle (1.2 amps per meter).

What I'd like to do is rectify ac with a suitable bridge, smooth out the ripples with a cap, and cut the total length into 10 similar sections which will be in series with each other so the 120v is divided by 10.

I don't want to use a capacitor to reduce the voltage because I need this to still be dimmable. Total current in 10x 4' sections should still be under 1.5 Amps. The stuff isn't cheap (even directly from China), so it's best I catch an error in the plan here~

Thanks for any assistance!

Last edited: Apr 17, 2011
  2. playfair

Apr 17, 2011
    Funny, the images I linked to worked fine in preview, but not once posted!
    The first is the physical layout of the strip, second is a schematic of the strip, and the third is a schematic of what I'd like to do.