Shunt Resistor help

tristonian

Joined Mar 23, 2012
Hello aac people,

I have a very basic question that has stumped me for the last two days despite countless searching. I'm sure the answer is very basic and a clear explanation would help out.

I an attempt to teach myself electronics I studied up on resistors from a couple resources (art of electronics and this site). I then have been trying to apply my knowledge with a very basic circuit: the U-pad. I followed along this website that explains the theory behind pads and has instructions on how to make your own: http://www.uneeda-audio.com/pads/

Here's the problem:
I don't understand how the load (mic preamplifier in this case) sees the shunt resistor as the source impedance (150 ohms in this example) and not the total resistance of the 2 series resistors (1k each in this example) and the the shunt resistor.

I do understand the voltage divider portion of the circuit and that the voltage drop occurs as a product of the ratio between the series resistor and the series resistor.

I don't understand what is happening by bridging the + and - signal in this balanced circuit other than it is allowing current to pass from + to - and vice versa.

I don't understand how to calculate the thevenin equivalent resistance of the U-pad

Any help, clarification, or links would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
T

tristonian

Joined Mar 23, 2012
Would love to get just a link that can help me unfold this mystery that I hear is so simple! Reread resistor section in the DC Chapter on this site. Any guidance is appreciated

T

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Without hunting through that guy's website, I don't know exactly what circuit you are referring to.