Shielding stepper motor wires

leonhart88

Joined Feb 23, 2007
Dear All,

I did do a search on this and found one thread on a similar topic (http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showthread.php?t=46447). I believe one of the members in that thread gave me the answer, but I want to double check.

I have a stepper motor for a peristaltic pump I'm using. The wires it came with were just 22AWG wires (connected to a PCB). This pump was purchased, so I don't know anything about the electronics/PCB. I cut the wires and soldered new wire to extend the distance the motor can be from the PCB. I asked the company before doing this and they said it should be OK (it's an OEM pump).

However, I'm a bit concerned that the wires may be picking up noise that can affect my results. I would like to put some shielding on the wires, or purchase a shielded cable with 4 conductors in it and use that instead. However, I'm not sure how to connect/solder shielded cable, as I have never done that before.

From doing some research, I can just purchase a 4 conductor (the motor has 4 wires) shielded cable and solder the cables together, with ONE end of the shielding connected to the PCB ground. Is this correct?

Thanks,
Philip

leonhart88

Joined Feb 23, 2007
On a side note....how would I even tell if the un-shielded wires are causing problems?

I can't really tell if there are problems with the motor's steps, since it seems to be running OK. I do get some variations in my pump results sometimes though...but I have a pretty large setup with many variables that may be the reason for that. I do worry a little that the noise and un-shielded wires may cause the motor to skip steps once in a while. I'll probably remove everything and just test the pump by itself to see if it pumps a consistent amount of water every time. If shielding is a problem with motor control...i should see problems.