Setting up a Raspberry Pi

Discussion in 'Computing and Networks' started by Sparky49, Sep 28, 2013.

  1. Sparky49

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Jul 16, 2011
    834
    417
    Hi everyone,

    I'm settling into uni now, and have thought I could start playing about with my raspberry pi, perhaps do a bit of programming, turn it into a webserver, etc.

    However, I have straight away hit an obstacle. I have no TV. :eek:

    I have tried connecting the hmdi with that of my laptop, alas, it seems the hdmi on my laptop is only hdmi output.

    I was going to try ssh, by taking into the computing labs and using a monitor with hdmi input to set everything up, take it back to my room and use it. But in that case, the IP address would change.

    Does anyone have any ideas that might work? I have two ethernet connections in my room, indeed ethernet connections on both my pi and laptop, but I would really like the pi to be able to connect to the internet, so I could experiment with it as a web sever, for example.

    Anyhow, many thanks for your time.

    Sparky
     
  2. hgmjr

    Moderator

    Jan 28, 2005
    9,030
    214
    Do you have a computer terminal that has a DVI input?
     
    Sparky49 likes this.
  3. Sparky49

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Jul 16, 2011
    834
    417
    I'm afraid not hgmjr.
     
  4. hgmjr

    Moderator

    Jan 28, 2005
    9,030
    214
    Maybe you know someone who has a DVI monitor that they can loan you for a while. Or will sell you cheap.
     
    Sparky49 likes this.
  5. Sparky49

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Jul 16, 2011
    834
    417
    I don't know anyone who has one to loan, I could check on Ebay though.
     
  6. hgmjr

    Moderator

    Jan 28, 2005
    9,030
    214
    If you are buying a monitor, you may want to go ahead and get one that has HDMI. That will give you the full benefits of the HDMI interface from the RPi.
     
    Sparky49 likes this.
  7. Sparky49

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Jul 16, 2011
    834
    417
    I was just thinking, could I take the raspberry pi hdmi output, and view it on my laptop through the usb? Via a hdmi to USB converter.
     
  8. MrChips

    Moderator

    Oct 2, 2009
    12,440
    3,360
    I don't think so.

    See if you can find a spare monitor. One with an HDMI input would be nice. Otherwise you can use an HDMI to VGA cable and use a VGA monitor (I think, I will have to double check).
     
    Sparky49 likes this.
  9. Markd77

    Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    2,803
    594
    Presumably the lab and your room are both using DHCP and you need to know the LAN address in your room.
    It's quite likely that if you plug a laptop into your room, note down the address, and then change to the Pi, that the address will not have changed.
    I don't actually know to do this but you could somehow set the pi up to send the output of ifconfig to email or FTP when it boots.
     
  10. BMorse

    Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    2,675
    234
    You can also connect and write programs for the PI on a PC and connect to the PI over SSH.
     
  11. MagicMatt

    Member

    Sep 30, 2013
    117
    14
    A second user 15 or even 17 inch monitor with DVI is probably going to be cheaper than an HDMI to VGA converter.

    Don't forget you can use any old screen if it has a composite video input (ie old TVs etc.) - people are often giving away old style CRT TVs - big, bulky, but a potential free stop-gap until you have a better solution.

    Personally I'd buy a nice screen with DVI and VGA inputs.
     
  12. sirch2

    Well-Known Member

    Jan 21, 2013
    1,008
    351
    Check out using VNC on the RasPi http://elinux.org/RPi_VNC_Server. As BMorse suggests you can probaly configure this over SSH with a client like Putty on your Laptop
     
  13. shooking

    New Member

    Sep 29, 2013
    1
    0
    Or a crossover cable between laptop and pi having configured both for 192 network say. Then as previously suggested try VNC or even, if this is available for Pi, XDMCP ... Careful this is insecure but if on your own wire it should be OK.

    Regards
    Steve H
     
  14. paulktreg

    Distinguished Member

    Jun 2, 2008
    611
    120
  15. THE_RB

    AAC Fanatic!

    Feb 11, 2008
    5,435
    1,305
    A new flatscreen TV with HDMI input is only about $70.
     
    BMorse likes this.
  16. Markd77

    Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    2,803
    594
  17. panic mode

    Senior Member

    Oct 10, 2011
    1,320
    304
    I strongly suggest getting TV or monitor with HDMI input. I was using VNC over Ethernet and while it does work, it is slower. plus to set it up and get to that point, you need to see what you do. I am away this week but when I return home, I will lookup my notes on how to set this up. you may try to set this up at friends home for example (assuming he/she has TV or monitor).
     
Loading...