Set Arduino pin to High Impedance (floating)

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by sirch2, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. sirch2

    sirch2 Thread Starter Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    780
    Location:
    Westmorland, UK
    The circuit shown below is for a 40kHz ultrasonic rangefinder. I have put together a variation of the circuit using an Arduino and not including the I2C code/connector (the original code is in Assembly with which I am not too familiar so I am rewriting it).

    The reciever section includes 4 Op Amps, the middle two of which are supposed to provide selectable gain. I am assuming that I need to toggle the resistsors from High Impedance to Low (ground) to change the gain and I can set the relevat pins to OUTPUT, LOW to ground them.

    My question is how do I set the pins back to floating in on the Arduino? Would it be enough to set it to HIGH?

    [​IMG]
  2. MrChips

    MrChips Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    10,303
    There is a register called DDRA. Set this to 0 to set all pins of PORTA to high impedance.
    Specifically, set the corresponding bit to 1 that you wish to be an output.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
The Projects Forum Arduino High Power LED Jun 4, 2012
The Projects Forum RGB LED variable colour and strobe current colour (without PIC or Arduino) Dec 7, 2014
The Projects Forum Using 3 Channel Video Switcher Module with Arduino Dec 7, 2014
The Projects Forum Arduino 8x8 LED Matrix Nov 17, 2014
The Projects Forum Need help with integration of Arduino with a Face Detection & Recognition program in Matlab Nov 12, 2014

Share This Page