Set Arduino pin to High Impedance (floating)

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by sirch2, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. sirch2

    sirch2 Thread Starter Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    602
    Location:
    Westmorland, UK
    The circuit shown below is for a 40kHz ultrasonic rangefinder. I have put together a variation of the circuit using an Arduino and not including the I2C code/connector (the original code is in Assembly with which I am not too familiar so I am rewriting it).

    The reciever section includes 4 Op Amps, the middle two of which are supposed to provide selectable gain. I am assuming that I need to toggle the resistsors from High Impedance to Low (ground) to change the gain and I can set the relevat pins to OUTPUT, LOW to ground them.

    My question is how do I set the pins back to floating in on the Arduino? Would it be enough to set it to HIGH?

    [​IMG]
  2. MrChips

    MrChips Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,318
    There is a register called DDRA. Set this to 0 to set all pins of PORTA to high impedance.
    Specifically, set the corresponding bit to 1 that you wish to be an output.
Similar Threads: Arduino High
Forum Title Date
The Projects Forum Arduino High Power LED Jun 4, 2012
The Projects Forum Diy a arduino car that can do parallel parking Sunday at 5:52 AM
The Projects Forum Arduino Car Cluster Simulator Thursday at 2:17 AM
The Projects Forum Control on/off state of IC with arduino Aug 22, 2014
The Projects Forum Independent/Arduino Mega Based Electronic Drum Kit Jul 3, 2014

Share This Page