sensors in industries

Nathan Hale

Joined Oct 28, 2011
Hi folks , hope all is well.
I was reading how airplanes, radars, satellites and other expensive things like those have sensors / electronic devices that feed them data.
does any one know if designers usually put just one sensor and call it a day or do they usually have back up sensors that will kick in case the first on fails? if they do have back up sensors, would you know what the industry standard is? is it one back up or two or three or ore??

thank you

Glenn Holland

Joined Dec 26, 2014
I used to work in the rail transit business which has a very high standard for safety critical or "Vital" functions and here's what we use in train control systems.

Usually only one sensor is used for monitoring a given function, but they are ANDED or Exclusive ORED with other sensors that monitor other similar functions. This is called a "Checked Redundant" process.

For example, the alignment of the rails of a track switch is monitored by two proximity sensors, one must indicate the switch is aligned for curve route and the other must indicate the switch is NOT aligned for straight route. There is also a sensor for the switch locking mechanism. Indications of the three variables form a simple Boolean expression that must be "True" in order to permit a train to proceed over the switch.

There are no "back up" sensors so if any one fails, the process will default to HALT mode and we get a trouble call. Obviously, a train control system can be made fault tolerant by simply shutting off propulsion and applying the brake, but an aircraft cannot come to a stop in mid air.

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009