Sense current change in inductor based on magnetic field changes

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Mike Bedford, Jun 24, 2015.

1. Mike Bedford

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 10, 2015
    Hello all,

Love this site and forum, with I could participate more but I am a newb and by all means, a hobbyist....not an EE.

Anyway, I have a theory question. I was thinking about working on a project to test this theory. Let's say I have a permanent magnet that travels along an axis in a linear motion. For example on a screw drive. Typically on a screw drive, you would put limit switches at the ends to detect end of travel. This would typically be done using microswitches or if I have a magnet traveling along, you could use a hall or reed switch. However, let's say you wanted to know the position of the magnet along the length of travel instead of just the ends. This is basically like a linear encoder.

So, the question is, could I wind up wire around a dowel rod for example to form an inductor that runs the length of the screw drive. Then, have the magnet travel parallel to and in close proximity to the inductor/coil. The theory is that the magnet would disturb the magnet field created by the inductor and cause a change of some sort. This is where I am stuck and need help. Would I generate an AC signal (maybe square wave or something using a 555 timer) and then measure current change, voltage drop or ??? Could I simply measure inductance value change? I would like to circuit to be as small and simple as possible.

Any thoughts to help me get started?

Thanks!

Mike

2. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    I don't see how that could give you the position of the magnet?

3. Bordodynov

May 20, 2015