Semiconductors

Discussion in 'Physics' started by VVS, Mar 28, 2008.

1. VVS

Thread Starter Active Member

Jul 22, 2007
    Hi I am studying EEE and we have a subject called devices. we are studying how semiconductors behave and looking at the mobility of electrons and holes. I found often that in tables the mobility of holes is often much less because the effective mass is greater.
    Could somebody please explain to me why it is that holes and electrons have different effective masses when the existance of holes arises from symmetry arguments??? :confused:

2. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    Electrons have mass. Holes are the absence of electrons. Since there should be an electron where the hole is the net charge increase is positive, but only by the electrons absence. Not totally sure of this answer, but it's been a long time since school for me.

3. VVS

Jul 22, 2007
    i understand why the magnitude of the charges of the electron and the hole have to be equal, but shouldnt the mass be same as well??? if u look in tables u will find different effective masses for electrons and holes although holes are just the absence of electrons.

4. Dave

Retired Moderator

Nov 17, 2003
    Think about how electrons and holes move around in the presence of an applied electric-field.

In n-type semicondutor material where the charge carrier is the electron, the application of the electric-field causes the migration of electrons through the material.

In p-type semicondutor material where the charge carrier is the hole, the application of the electric-field still causes the migration of electrons, however they now move to fill the hole - in this sense the hole moves opposite to the movement of the electrons which respond to the application of the electric-field.

Therein, the idea of symmetry doesn't wholly apply here.

In terms of mass think of the following picture from the e-book: http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_3/chpt_2/5.html#03404.png