Self built JK Flip-Flop

fluffyninja

Joined Mar 2, 2012
Hi guys, bear with me as I'm completely new to logic gates (and the inner workings of electronics, in general.)

I'm attempting to build a fairly simple binary clock. I feel jumping in a (somewhat) simple project like this is a good starting point.

I have a 555 timer outputting (approximately) one high per second. I haven't gotten it tweaked exactly right just yet, but close enough I should be able to use it for proof of concept.

My 555 timer out is feeding a JK built from 2 AND gates and 2 OR gates. My understanding is that if I output high to both "J" and "K" I should get the desired toggle. Unfortunately, I'm not getting anything but 1V from both Q and Q`.

As I understand, perhaps I have to set the flip-flop before it can be toggled? Maybe just a simple relay or some such?

Excuse my lack of knowledge, before starting this project I had never even heard of a logic gate. I'm a computer programmer, so I'm learning fairly quickly. (At least I like to think I am!)

Thanks in advance for any help. :)

Attachments

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Welcome to AAC!

You will get better response if you post in a graphic standard, such as gif or png formats. I can not look at your schematic as is, and I'm one of the major graphic poster types here.

I also have a pretty good set of 555 tutorials here, and am interested in your design.

Fluffy Ninja? I mean no disrespect, but would you be of the feminine persuasion? :D

fluffyninja

Joined Mar 2, 2012
Thanks for the welcome!

I think I've narrowed down my trouble. I just need to figure out a way to send a pulse to J (A4, I believe) to "set" the flip-flop initially. Unfortunately, I'm not sure or the best way to do that. Perhaps an XOR gate running back to itself? I'll keep working on it while I wait for a response.