Selection of microcontrollers for my automation project

circuitmav

Joined Jul 3, 2016
Hello All,

I am new to electronics and have a mechanical engineering background. I want to make a home automation system for myself but I don't want to use something like Arduino instead I want something more robust and cost effective than Arduino which also help me gain more knowledge. I have looked at microcontrollers from TI and PIC.

I am just looking for some words to put into google so that I can understand what else is out there that I can use for my project. Any suggestions please?

Thank you.

KMoffett

Joined Dec 19, 2007
I too like the PICAXEs. They fall off on very high speed operations compared to non-interpreted programming micros. But that doesn't sound like it would be an issue for you. A large part of selection is how many inputs and outputs you will need. And can you distribute some I/O operations to smaller micros around your system, being poled by a master control micro.
http://www.picaxe.com/
http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/

Ken

OBW0549

Joined Mar 2, 2015
I am new to electronics and have a mechanical engineering background. I want to make a home automation system for myself but I don't want to use something like Arduino instead I want something more robust and cost effective than Arduino which also help me gain more knowledge.
I wouldn't dismiss Arduino so quickly; for a beginner, it can be a good place to start as it offers a very gentle learning curve and a relatively painless way to get your feet wet. Arduinos are very easy to use, there is a ton of free software available on the 'net, and outfits such as Adafruit offer oodles of useful hardware peripherals such as sensors, actuators and wireless communication devices. Sparkfun does, too.

My recommendation would be to start with Arduino and then move on to something more powerful after you've gained some experience.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013