Seeking audio amplifier circuit advice

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Involute, Jun 12, 2016.

1. Involute

Thread Starter Active Member

Mar 23, 2008
    Audio newbie here. I'm using an Arduino to make a countdown timer. I'd like to be able to generate beeps in a couple of frequencies (like what you often hear at the start of a 100 yard dash, e.g.), so quality isn't as important as volume. It doesn't have to be as loud as at an actual track meet, but louder than a cell phone speaker. Can't quantify it more than that, I'm afraid.

I was thinking of running a square wave from an IO pin into a simple amplifier circuit, then to a speaker, but the circuits I've been coming across (LM386 e.g.) seem to assume a traditional audio level. I don't know what that is, nor do I know what effect a 5V square would have, even if it's within the specs of a particular chip. Before I jump down this rabbit hole to experiment, I thought I'd check to see if anyone here can offer some suggestions or point me in the right initial direction. Thanks!

2. ian field

Distinguished Member

Oct 27, 2012
    You need to state what audio transducer for anyone to guess what drive requirements.

It could be as simple as using CMOS buffer gates - you can also invert the signal for BTL drive and a lot more volume.

For more drive capability - your MCU can probably handle a complementary pair of emitter followers, again; inverting the signal (single common emitter) you can duplicate the follower pair for BTL drive.

3. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    You could use a cheap PC speaker. Many are built around the LM386 or similar and just add a power supply. You could put batteries inside the enclosure or just keep it as is.