Sculpture needs a sensor

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by BenjaminAB, Aug 25, 2010.

1. BenjaminAB

Thread Starter Member

Aug 25, 2010
    Hello I am a Graduate art student working on a sculpture piece that I would like to light up as the viewer gets near. I would like the light to grow in intensity as the viewer gets closer and fade as they step away. If that is too complicated or expensive I will settle for it to just turn on when they get near. I am hoping I can put this together cheaply and simply. I haven't built a circuit since high school, 10 years ago, but I am fairly good with a soldering iron and can follow instructions well. Any suggestions on what I need would be greatly appreciated. I have been scouring the internets but am just confusing myself, so I thought I would ask for some help. Also the sensor itself needs to be small enough that i can conceal it in the sculpture. Thanks! :) :) :)

2. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009
    There are circuits for this if you search around:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Theramin
    Frequency to voltage ICs are fairly easy to find so all you would need is a piece of wire running through the sculpture.

3. BenjaminAB

Thread Starter Member

Aug 25, 2010
    So I will building a Theremin but have it emit light instead of sound? I am kinda dumb with some of the electronics speak. So I need it all laid out for me. Are there any kits for such a project that I can buy and modify for my use? Or should I just stop by my local radio shack for everything necessary?

4. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009
  5. BenjaminAB

Thread Starter Member

Aug 25, 2010
    Woah, looks like some reading. Maybe I'll print it and read it at work. What part do I need to pay attention to? I am assuming I don't need to build the whole thing just part of it to control the light.

6. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009