Screen Flicker problem!

rougie

Joined Dec 11, 2006
Hello,

Yesterday I posted a post called "Noise from 556". I Thought it would be better off if I re-posted a detailed version of my problem... Here it is.

If you open my attachment, you will see my schematic. Some fellows where concerned that the way I connected my LCD was the cause of the flickering. I must say that the LCD has working perfectly for about 6 months without any flickering problems. It is only when I attach wire A (Please view schametic) that the flickering starts. In reality the 556 timer has nothing to do with screen refreshes or any timming for the LCD. The LCD is completely controlled by the MCU.

I was wondering if I should use some other transistor instead of the 2N2222. Like I said, I am not that good with semies. I sort of left this stuff along time ago, and would appreciate some ideas on how I could modify the 2N2222 driver circuit. The 2N2222 will be intended to drive an IR LED. But weather I plug the LED or not, I still get flickering on the LCD.

PS. The timer's specs says that the current version of the 556 can be powered from 2 to 18 VDC!

All help appreciated.

With greatest regards
Robby

Attachments

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
The problem is that when the 2N2222 transistor conducts, the 43 Ohm resistor is the load; the emitter drops about 0.65v, and the remaining voltage (3.3 - 0.65 = 2.65) is dropped by the 43 Ohm resistor. This is causing in the neighborhood of a 60mA-70mA surge in the current on the power supply at a 38kHz rate.

I think you connected it that way because you wanted positive logic.

Instead, remove the 2N2222. Take a 2N2907 transistor, connect it's emitter to the 3.3v supply line, and the base to the 33k resistor, and the collector to your load.

However, your load is not resistive; it is an IR LED. You normally must use a current limiting resistor to prevent burning it out.

What is the Vf (forward voltage) of the IR LED at it's rated current?