Scoreboard Setup

loue2

Joined Jun 14, 2008
I am currently working on a small scoreboard to keep score (0-21) for 2 teams. So far, I have setup a PIC16f627a with 1 dual 7-segment led display running off a 9V battery. This keeps track of the score for 1 team only and counts up 99 then goes back to 0 via a pushbutton switch. I attached a schematic of what I have setup so far.

I am new to programming microcontroller and I have been tackling this project one step at a time. I am learning as I go along. I think I got the basic programming aspects down. I just have a few questions concerning what I would like to incorporate in my project.

My current setup is to have the display and pushbuttons all on the same board. However, I would like to have the led display on its own board seperate from the pushbuttons. So, I can mount the scoreboard display on the wall and then have a hand-held device with the buttons to increase the score. What type of transmitter/receiver would I need to use for so the PIC knows that the button has been pushed and it need to increase the count?

Also, right now, while I am testing things out, I am just using a .8" CA 7-segment display (http://www.futurlec.com/LED/7DR8021BS.shtml). The display was very dim. I decreased the resistor values, but it still wasn't bright enough. So, I connected the common anode pins to the 9V supply from the battery, instead of the 5V output from the voltage regulator. Was I okay in doing this? Once I get everything working as I like, I want to switch to 2.3" digits (http://www.futurlec.com/LED/7SR23011AS.shtml) which will also need more current then I will probably be able to get from the 5V supply. The ones I got are CC, so I don't think I can utilize connection to the higher 9V supply.

My basic questions are:
1. What I do need to incorporate a wireless connection from a pushbutton to the PIC?

2. How to increase the output voltage on the PIC pins to drive the larger 2.3" digits?