Scope questions

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by maxpower097, Jan 11, 2010.

1. maxpower097

Thread Starter Well-Known Member

Feb 20, 2009
    Hey guys I'm a hobbiest/newbie pro with microcontrollers and don't really do anything crazy hard. Pretty much just mess around with 8bit - 32bit mcu's. I'm definately getting to the point where I need a scope. Do you think one of the 100mhz USB scopes would work for my needs or should I be looking at an older professional bench scope? I've seen some cheaper scopes for $100 on ebay. I'm sure these would be slow like 20mhz - 40mhz but do you think these would fit my needs for a while till I grew out of it and moved past MCU's?
    Thanks

2. retched

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 5, 2009
  3. sceadwian

Jun 1, 2009
    I still haven't outgrown the 500khz analog scope I got off ebay for 30 bucks (delivered) It's a rackmount boat anchor, but it has a maximum .1mv per division, the time base is accurate and it acts finely as a high speed analog multimeter.

20mhz is fine for most work, and be wary of mhz of bandwidth vs samples per second for a digital scope, as the bare minimum frequency you get get out of a 100msps digital scope is a 50mhz signal. Typically de-rating for samples to bandwidth is done at 4 to 1, so for a 100 mega sample per second scope the bandwidth should be considered 25mhz. Higher if you need actual precision.

Also the maximum bandwidth on most scopes is almost always listed for a 10X probe, not a 1X one.

Link the scope you're looking at.

I would highly recommend spending about a month trying to find a good deal on a cheap boat anchor from e-bay, even if it's dead on arival the components you can get from it internally are worth more than the auction cost and shipping combined.

4. maxpower097

Thread Starter Well-Known Member

Feb 20, 2009
    hmmmmm. very good advise. Let me read that link and do a lil more research and I'll post what I'm looking at.

5. bitrex

Dec 13, 2009