Science Fair Help - Sensors....

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by andr3co4, Feb 12, 2013.

1. andr3co4

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 12, 2013
    Hey guys i am new to this forum and i am a complete noob in electronics and hoped if i could find some info on how to do this science fair project.
    It is basically an ice detector and uses some simple stuff. Instead I want to make it a water detector that is attached to a mobility cane so it serves as an water detector for the blind to avoid mishaps in places just after the rain or rather puddles that show up due to car washes etc etc. I just have got a mobility cane. I hope you guys can tell me alternative circuits and components which are much easier to find.
    Use the menu on the right to navigate
    The thing is that i have a hard time finding this stuff and wasted all my time searching for components and i also dont understand a thing about electronics but i am very interested. My project is due next week and i live in the UAE but i have to go to Abu Dhabi which is the nearest city to find components and i live 200 km away and since the shops are closed on Friday I gotta go on Saturday to get the components and do it over night and it is due next Sunday.
    My teacher said that i need a multimeter to calibrate the sensor to find the certain reference voltage and then tweak the comparator until i find the perfect balance. But since i am a noob i dont understand a thing and i have no idea how to present it.Presentation is not much of a worry. but I dont know how the circuit works
    I cannot do anything until Saturday.
    Much help is needed here and fast....I hope i dont come off as a dumb idiot here...
    BTW Radioshack in the UAE seems to be closed since a year....
  2. andr3co4

Feb 12, 2013
    K...I specified down to the things i need help with rather than u guys figuring out for me...
    1. I need help if there are any alternatives to the components that are easier to find...