Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by Cantafford, Jan 4, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cantafford

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 4, 2014
    I understand if this may very well be the dumbest question ever posted on this forum but I'm new to the world of electronics and I have a problem. I have issues converting the schematics from engineering schematics to textbook schematics and vice versa.
    Like in this image:

Please explain what are the rules to be used when converting and help me if you can with these circuits:

1. Conver this from textbook schematics to engineering schematics:

2. Convert this from engineering schematics to textbook schematics:

Thank you for reading.
  2. Ramussons

May 3, 2013
    One Major difference between Text Book Schematics and Engineering Schematic is that in Engineering Schematics, the "other" end of a Source (voltage, current, signal) or Load is "Ground" and is to be presumed. In a Text Book Schematic, this "Ground" is Drawn.

There are a lot more "Assumptions" that is inherent in Engineering, whereas in a Text Book, there are no Assumptions - everything is Specific.

3. MaxHeadRoom

Jul 18, 2013
    Presumably an engineering schematic is used in the production of a final product.
    Engineering schematics should show the true nature of the common connections.
    By indicating every common by the Earth Ground symbol can lead to confusion.
    There are several means of indicating the true nature of common connections, IMO, in an engineering schematic the only time an earth ground symbol should be used is if in fact it is connected to actual earth ground.
    There are many examples of various standards set out by official bodies, from JIC to NFPA79 etc.
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2014
  4. Cantafford

Jan 4, 2014
    Ok, excellent points but can you give me an example? Like get one of the schematics I have posted and transform it, from engineering to textbook or vice-versa.
  5. Mark IV

Oct 1, 2013