Safety issues when using a multimeter

Rollingstone

Joined Oct 17, 2006
Hey all,

Noob here, and totally green at continuity measurement, etc. Sorry.

Anyways, I just bought a digi multimeter, and would appreciate safety guidance on its use.

1) If I were to test continuity, amps, whatever, with the multimeter, for instance under a car hood context, is it safe to start the car and then check measurements, or is there any safety prob here?

2) Or should only the battery be connected, and the ignition turned to the right, but no ignition?

3) Or should the ignition always be on "OFF" position?

4) Should I wear some sort of anti-static gloves/kit in some form? -- I seem to attract static, lol.

5) Any nOOb site/link you can recommend for me, where I can learn, in simple English, how to use a multimeter, and practice the skill with some exercises?

Excuse the qs. I don't wanna get any nasty shocks, electrical or static, by incorrectly using my new toy. All tips, tricks, and links will be much appreciated!

Cheers,
/RS

EEMajor

Joined Aug 9, 2006
Hi. Welcome!

1.) When working on automotive electronics, the biggest safety risk in my mind is the moving parts, such as the fan and belts. Also, be cautious of the hot manifolds, etc. Unless your meter specifically says so, do not use it on the high voltage side of the ignition (spark plug side).

Many automotive measurements will need to be taken with the engine running, just be carefull and be sure you follow the manual for your meter on how to correctly hook it up!

2 - 3.) As mentioned above, most measurements should be taken with the engine running to get a good idea of what is really happening...You don't drive the car down the road with the engine off too often, although I have.....thats another story :D

I suggest you get a Chiltons manual to guide you through the steps for different tests.

Good luck.

Dave

Joined Nov 17, 2003